The Completist’s Nightmare is over.

Collecting 1,348 PlayStation Trophies sounds like a big achievement, right? Well, considering 22 of these are golden trophies, 162 are silver and the rest (1,164) are bronze, this is certainly quantity over quality. I’m not listing the number of trophies I have for the fun of it (please, bear with me I promise I do have a point) I am just more concerned I have 15 physical games (I am not even going to start with how many downloads I have) and can ashamedly admit to you I have completed none of them. Nada. Zip! And even worse, I have never gained a Platinum trophy! The horror… Impressed with 1,348 trophies now? Because, I’m not!

Trophies_MyGaymer

I’m assuming you will need a minute or two after digesting that awful admission…. Done? Ok, so here it is, faithful reader’s (I’m assuming someone out there reads this?) I am going to complete all 15 of my PlayStation games within the next few months. I know it doesn’t sound like a major feat but bear in mind most of these games I will usually play for a short while and then move on to the next one in a vicious cycle. Buying games is expensive especially when I play them a few times and move on to the next!

Mygames_MyGaymer

It even happened today as just a few weeks ago I purchase Injustice 2 (despite my protests to my wonderful partner how I won’t be buying it full price and going to wait for it to drop in price) and I played it for a while – promising I will not buy another until it is complete.

Today I purchased Horizon: Zero Dawn (I know I’m late to the party). Will, I wait until Injustice 2 is complete before playing Horizon? Nope I will not!

So, it ends here! I’m taking a stand against my disgraceful habit and I vow from this day forth as follows, the three golden rules:

  • To play one game at a time and completing it fully before moving onto the next completing the game thoroughly, in terms of story and gaining all trophies
  • Playing and completing all 15 (physical) games within the next few months
  • Writing both reviews as well as update each week on my progress

You may still be thinking, that’s easy! But is it? Look at your gaming collection and tell me how many games have you completed? Have you gained all the trophies for each? Thought not.

I know there are many trophy hunters out there who can boast of all their thousands of trophies and plenty of platinum ones to boot – I just wonder, where do they find the time?

I work full time (It takes me 2 -3 hours travel each day), I write this blog, I go to the gym, I have a partner and two fish to look after (they love nothing better than to dirty up their tank as soon as it is cleaned! Such hard work) as well as developing a side business idea (but more on this another time) when I get to game, it’s usually an hour or two at most. My partner even tells me to play games, as he enjoys watching me play but half the time I am either too tired or need to do something more productive, like the washing. The joys of being a grown up!

But I will be making time now! It starts today!

PS4_MyGaymer

The games I must play are as follows:

  • Dying Light (Played once!)
  • Final Fantasy Type-0 HD
  • Tomb Raider
  • Dishonored 2 (played once or twice)
  • The Last Guardian (Played a lot but stopped and now can’t remember where I am up to)
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider
  • Kingdom Hearts 2.8 HD
  • Kingdom Hearts 1.5 & 2.5 HD
  • Horizon Zero Dawn
  • Injustice 2
  • Killzone: Shadow Fall
  • The Order: 1886
  • World of Final Fantasy
  • Batman: Return to Arkham
  • Injustice

You can see my taste in games is eclectic but also shows how cheap I am as most have been purchased this year and last (My PS4 and games were stolen summer last year) – I try not to buy games at full price as a rule, hence most have been out for quite some time now probably found their way into my possession from some bargain bin or sale or whatever. Some, I have brought at full price (Injustice 2 for example) as I am weak and cannot resist…

Reading this back, I don’t mean to come across as spoilt and #3rdworldproblems – I am so lucky to have a PS4 and be able to afford the luxury of having enough to buy and play games. I just think it’s a waste If I have not made the most of each one I own. Especially when some have hardly been played!

Trophy

Anyway, as mentioned, I will be writing updates each week with my progress. This will differ from game to game (as some, like Batman has several games in one) in terms of story, number of trophies left to complete and my general whines and moans. I’d like to call it, “There and Back Again” as I feel the task will be massive, epic and will be a struggle! (Plus, I adore Lord of the Rings) What do you think? I’ll even write a bonus overview when completing a game in a sort of review format – means more blog posts from yours truly!

It’s going to take a lot of time and effort, but 3 months from now I hope to have these games completed, with each trophy sat gleaming in my virtual cabinet.

Suppose I best get started then eh? Let me just check the PlayStation Store to see if there are any bargains first…

One thought on “The Completist’s Nightmare is over.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

